Elafonisos seduces anyone who visits her. Whenever you come, there will always be something new to discover. The only island of Lakonia, 500 meters from the opposite coast, is one of the few islands that can be reached by road Elafonisos is an ideal destination for nature lovers with rare flora and fauna. Tall dunes and rare sea-trees decorate all the beaches of the island. Come and experience the twin beaches of Simos and Sarakinikos that are among the best in the Mediterranean. Discover the secrets that lie on the other beaches of the island, each with its own beauty and uniqueness. At Panagia you can enjoy an idyllic sunset as the sun sets between its islands. Explore the sunken state of the Bronze Age in Pavlopetri, sleeping in the depths of the sea and time. Lake Stroggili, a protected wetland of the area, is a refuge for rare species of migratory birds among them and flamingos! Immerse yourself in the turquoise waters and let the sea tell you the history of the island of deer, connected with seafarers, travelers and pirates who found shelter in the hospitable beaches of “Smygos” island. Travel to the myths inspired by this beautiful […]
Just outside the harbor of Avlemonas, at 20 meters depth, a group from the Institute of Marine Archaeology found in 1980 an ancient shipwreck! It was “Mentor”, the ship Lord Elgin used in 1802 to transfer the stolen Parthenon sculptures and fragments of other monuments. After the sinking of “Mentor”, Lord Elgin had used free divers from Kalymnos to haul whatever they could from the precious cargo. The archaeologists’ investigation identified the remains of this effort, such as appliances and items of the crew, including a clock stopped at 1:10 or 2:05. This should be the sinking time, as Lord Elgin’s secretary writes in his diary that the ship started sinking in the early morning hours. So far they have discovered nine stone anchors, relics of shipwrecks and an abundance of articles providing important information on trade and navigation of the time!
It is undoubtedly the most impressive miracle of nature anovlasitikis and a little-known secret. Unfortunately there are no signs, so you have to show your short dirt road south of the village that takes you to a spring and a shrine. Behind the fountain there is a mysterious and pitch dark cave (those having done a cursory exploration of the interior speak for great images and underground lakes!) And after park will descend the steep slope with trees, pressing carefully onto a thick rug platanofylla as the riverbed. There you will see the source of the hum that sounded eerie as on the street: water from different directions mingle over a cave pierced the roof, falling violently in a dark lake and continue to join the Selinunte. The image is highly suggestive with the fine mist of the spray of the waterfalls to humidify the atmosphere, the light plays with the drops xetryponontas ceiling of the cave and the waters to enforce the stone sovereignty of the country. The image is breathtaking, and perhaps that’s why fairies (which certainly lived here) took the voice of the innocent villagers. Undoubtedly from here passed Callisto and all the nymphs of Artemis and […]
The monastery is located on the right bank of the river Selinountas, opposite the village Lapanagoi of Municipality of Kalavryta, 30 kilometres from the city of Kalavrita and it is dedicated to the Assumption of the Virgin Mary. The Monastery which was built in 532 AD by strategist of Makellaria, as shown by an inscription which still exists, in order to atone from slaughter during the famous “Stasi of Nika” in Istanbul. In the centre of the Monastery it is the Panagia Makelarias, which is a small Byzantine church with a beautiful wooden-carved screen, on which it is placed the icon of the Virgin. This is an authentic Byzantine art piece, with a distinctive feature because wherever you stand, the Virgin’s eyes give you the impression that they follow you. The monastery was destroyed by the Turks in 1458 and renovated by the monk Neophytos. The original name of the monastery was the Virgin Mary Lithostrotiotisa, because it is built on a rock. The name “Makelaria” was given to the Monastery during the carnage that took place when the Turks attempted to conquer it in 1458. After many days of siege Turks occupied the monastery and kill the monks and […]
Ιερά Μονή Κοιμήσεως Θεοτόκου Μακελλαριάς
A Archaeological Site of Peristeria is located 8 km from the town of Kyparissia and only 3 km from Raches. It is considered to be one of the most important centers of Proto-Mycenaean civilization, since it was also characterized as “Mycenae of the Western Peloponnese”. The excavations began by Spyros Marinato in 1960, but his sudden death in an accident stopped the excavation. In the late 1970s Professor Georgios Korres continued the excavations. In the area there are three (3) vaulted tombs in which many gold cups and jewels were found, as well as great pots, dating back to the 16th-15th century BC. and are exhibited at the Archaeological Museum of Chora.
Municipality of Erymanthos Legends, secrets, traditions, monuments and treasures in mountainous Achaia The Municipality of Erymanthos is the main and largest mountainous area of the prefecture Achaia which gathers the secrets and legends of the two mountains of Panachaikos and Erymanthos, taking them from yesterday and transferring them to today. It belongs to the Region of Western Greece and was established with the Program Kallikratis, when it came from the unification of the pre-existing Trithea municipalities, Farres and the communities of Kalentzi and Leontiou. The extent of the municipality is 582.93 km². and the population of 8,877 residents according to its inventory 2011. In the villages of Erymanthos and Panachaiikos, as well as the plains of Trithea and Pharaus the visitor can feel the uniqueness of the mountain of Greek nature, knowing about tens of places with natural beauty have the wealth of Greek folk tradition in them. A tradition that is associated with the Greek countryside, the peasantry and the country livestock farming, labor for the land. But on this earth they emerged and cultures and cultures have been developed since prehistoric times and they reach the newer years. This place always had life and was distinguished for its […]
The monastery is situated 10km away from the town of Kalavrita. Built on the wild and steep side of a 120m high rocky hill there is a unique view from the monastery’s balcony. The monastery’s cells have been built around the entrance of a cave. The monastery was founded at this location in 362 A.D. by two brothers, Symeon and Theodore, because an icon of the Virgin Mary was found deep inside the cave where there’s also stream. The icon was discovered by a shepherd girl and was created by Apostle Luke from mastic and wax. In 840 A.C. the Mega Spileo was burnt down by the Iconomachs. In 1285 Andronikos Paleologos rebuilt it and from then on, this monastery became one of the richest in the country. In 1400 and in 1600 the monastery went through another two fires at which point the church was burnt down along with the precious library containing rare manuscripts. In 1934, the monastery went through again with another fire during which invaluable relics were destroyed. The monastery was rebuilt, in 1936, but suffered severe destruction in December 1943 from Germans. Germans executed 22 monks and all other staff members and their bodies thrown […]
The Monastery Of Mega Spilaio
aying at Palataki Villas is a unique experience for all our customers, the unique way that combines the tradition with all the comforts of modern times turns a holiday resort in an area so familiar as it is your home … The first thing you will see reaching the hotel is endless garden, the beauty does not stop there since moving in the rooms will meet the comfort and warmth of the room, the balcony of every room is endowed with a rare view compose a completely captivating scene that meets the senses and stimulates the imagination. Contact Us Address: Kardamili Messinia, 24022 Greece Telephone: +30 27210 73540, +30 27210 28095 Fax: +30 27210 73055 Mobile: +30 6982 315302 email: firstname.lastname@example.org Website: www.palataki.eu
palataki villas kardamyli
Explore Peloponnesos with Us
Places & Sites worth visit in Peloponnese
he Elementary School of Kalavryta built in the early 20th century and began operating in 1906. It is a four-grade school with neoclassical architectural elements and specific typology. It is built according to the first state program of construction of school buildings which stood by the engineer of the Ministry of Education, Demetrius Kallias and institutionalized by law in 1895. From the first years of operation it have teachers for all classes and was equipped with teaching aids for the teaching of the historical, linguistic, technical and practical subjects. During the Occupation ceased operations. Used as a school only from September until December 1943. This was the shortest school year in long-term contribution to education. On December 13th, 1943 burnt down by fire caused by the Germans. After the Liberation, the school was rebuilt according to its original architectural design. It reopened in 1955. In 1986, it was declared by the Ministry of Culture a national heritage monument and was designated as the building destined to house the Kalavrita Holocaust Municipal Museum. The School of Kalavryta was one of the most spacious public buildings in the city with a large yard. During the period of occupation from 1941 until the […]
Δημοτικό Μουσείο Καλαβρυτινού Ολοκαυτώματος
One of the most famous summer resorts of Peloponnisos, with great development because of the short distance from big cities. 165km from Athens and 49 from Tripolis. It has developed touristic substructures for every taste, crystal clear beaches and water sports. You can visit it all year round, ideal for weekends. There you can find a Sailing Centre, and you can visit the villages of Kynouria and the islands of Argosaronikos. The picturesque natural port is amazing, but the so called from the locals “Nisi” with an incredible view to the Argolic Bay. “Nisi” is called a part of the area that is built on the side of the hill. The houses of that region have kept their traditional colour and on top there is the well-known kedieval castle. Every summer in the local theatre take place a lot of cultural festivals and sports events.
PARALIO ASTROS KYNOURIAS
Just 4,5km away from the center of Kalavryta located the monastery of Agia Lavra, surrounding by many trees. Right of the main entrance of the monastery is the church where it is declared and blessed the revolution by the Bishop Paleon Patron Germanos during the feast of the Annunciation in 1821. The revolutionary flag that was raised on the revolution of 1821, today it is stored in the third monastery that is built since the revolution because the second monastery burned by Ibrahim and it was saved only its catholic place. The third monastery also destroyed by earthquake, fire and the Germans in 1943, but rebuilt.Also saved are the diamond encrusted Gospel, which were a gift from Catherine the Great and the vestments and the pastoral rod of Paleon Patron Germanos. The collection complements a large number of crosses of precious stones and other important objects of worship. From the large collection of images stands out the image of Saint Panteleimon dated in the 1600. On 25th of March every year, there are many celebrations with the mainly one to be the representation of the assembly of the chieftains and the raising of the revolution flag. Opening hours of the […]
Moni Agias Lavras
The Archaeological site of Ancient Kleitora located at village Ano kleitoria just 3 km from Kleitoria town. This is one of the most important cities of ancient Azania and because it is built on a plain, like other Arcadian cities, it is surrounded by strong walls for protection, which currently do not have survived in good condition, because the material was used in post-Byzantine and later years to build the houses in the surrounding villages. The wall is reinforced by distances from semicircular towers built during the Hellenistic period. The latest excavations have revealed an important part of the fortifications and towers and part of the ancient theater which is not in good condition. In front of the theater in a proper place every summer important theatrical performances are played due to the fact that the situation of the ancient theater does not allow using it. According to tradition the city took its name from Klitoria’s son, Azana.
ANO KLEITORIA KALAVRTYTA
One of the most important sights in Kalavryta is the Site of Sacrifice, which located at the hill of Kapi. It is east of the town of Kalavryta (500m away from the city center), on the way to Helmos Ski Center. It is the site where the entire male population (14 years old and under) of Kalavrita executed by Germans on December 13, 1943. Now in this area it is a great Cross, which reminds us this heinous crime. In columns that surround the central area are the names of the families of the executed. There is also a catacomb, which has as small hanging lamps as many families of the executed. Next to the catacomb it is a stone sculpture that dominates the pained mother. This is a symbol of human enduring, which created by Anna Vafia. It is symbolize the women heroines of Kalavryta (Mother, sister, grandmother, daughter) who struggled to overexertion reinstall the totally destroyed city. Every year on December 13, after the memorial service in the cathedral of the city leads the mournful procession to the Site of Sacrifice, where a memorial service celebrated Memorial Invitational.
Τόπος Θυσίας Καλαβρύτων
The temple of Apollo Epikourios, one of the most important and most imposing temples of antiquity, stands in the bare and rocky landscape of Bassae. It is unique in the history of ancient Greek architecture because it combines a variety of novel ideas both in its external appearance and in its internal arrangements. Indeed, Pausanias considered it to be among the finest temples of the Peloponnese in terms of sheer beauty and harmony, second only to that of Tegea (8, 41, 8). The building is dated to 420-400 BC and is believed to be the work of Iktinos, who succeeded in combining masterfully several Archaic features imposed by the conservative tradition of the Arcadians with the characteristics of the new Classical style. The surviving temple is not the first one to have been constructed on the site. The earliest temple of Apollo erected in the late seventh century BC, possibly at the same location, was rebuilt at least twice in approximately 600 and 500 BC. Many architectural features from these two phases survive, including a large terracotta acroterion with ornate painted decoration, roof-tiles and antefixes. The Classical temple was raised on bedrock, on a specially built terrace. Like several other […]
Temple of Apollo Epikourios
The vine of Pausanias are huge trunks of vines that spread over trees (oaks) in the churchyard of St. Nicholas in the village Pagrati between Achaia and Arcadia borders. Vine of Pausanias is a significant monument of nature in the area. It was named by the historian Pausanias when he visited the area. In his Arcadian Pausanias mentions vine as a phenomenon peculiar. It’s age estimated at about 3000 years and length of 100 meters.
The Corinth Canal was drilled in the late 19th century and is a very important construction achievement. The canal connects the Saronic Gulf with the Corinth Gukf allowing vessels to avoid this way the circumnavigation of the whole Peloponnese region. The canal is a construction of impressive dimensions, with a length of more than 6 km and a width of about 25 meters. The view of the canal from above the bridge breathtaking! At the 2 edges of the canal there are two very interesting to see submersible bridges as well.